Dean Zimmerman

The Sanders Prize in Metaphysics is administered by Dean Zimmerman, Professor of Philosophy at Rutgers University and co-editor of Oxford Studies in Metaphysics.

Submissions closed January 31st, 2017.


Current Competition Details

The Marc Sanders Prize in Metaphysics is an annual essay competition open to scholars who are within fifteen (15) years of receiving a Ph.D. or students who are currently enrolled in a graduate program. Independent scholars may also be eligible and should contact Dean Zimmerman

The award for the prizewinning essay is $10,000 and winning essays will be published in Oxford Studies in Metaphysics.

Submitted essays must present original research in metaphysics. Essays should be between 7,500 and 15,000 words. Since winning essays will appear in Oxford Studies in Metaphysics submissions must not be under review elsewhere. To be eligible for this year’s prize, submissions must be received, electronically, by January 31st, 2017. Refereeing will be blind; authors should omit remarks and references that might disclose their identities. Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged by e-mail. The winner will be determined by a committee of members of the Editorial Board of Oxford Studies in Metaphysics and will be announced by late-March. Inquiries should be directed to Dean Zimmerman and Karen Bennett, co-editor of Oxford Studies in Metaphysics, at

2 thoughts on “Metaphysics

  1. Pingback: Litland (Texas) Wins Sanders Prize in Metaphysics | Daily Nous

  2. Pingback: The Prosblogion