APA Book Prize Winners

2016 Winner

evidence and agencyWe are excited to announce that Berislav Marušić has been awarded the 2016 Sanders book prize for his book, Evidence and Agency: Norms of Belief for Promising and Resolving (Oxford University Press).

Marušić explores the question of how we, as agents, should weigh evidence when assessing our future actions. We frequently make promises or resolutions despite evidence that carrying out these actions will be difficult. In doing so, our resolutions and promises seem irrational or insincere. Marušić argues that, provided it is important to us to do something, we can rationally believe that we will do it, even if our belief goes against the evidence.

2015 Winner

UNruly wordsCongratulations to Diana Raffman (University of Toronto), who has been awarded the 2015 Sanders Book Prize for her book Unruly Words: A Study of Vague Language.  Raffman proposes a new theory on vagueness that is genuinely semantic (non-epistemic) but preserves bivalence.

Unruly Words is a pleasure to read and it provides plenty of material for thought and discussion. I strongly recommend it for anyone involved or interested in the philosophical debate on vagueness.”–Jonas Akerman, Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews

An honorable mention goes to Dana Nelkin (University of California, San Diego), Making Sense of Freedom and Responsibility (Oxford University Press).

2014 Winner

9780199673445Congratulations to L. A. Paul and Ned Hall who have been awarded the 2014 Sanders Book Prize for their book Causation: A User’s Guide. Paul and Hall guide the reader through the most important philosophical treatments of causation, negotiating the terrain by taking a set of examples as landmarks. Using a methodological principle based on the close examination of potential counterexamples, they clarify the central themes of the debate about causation, and cover questions about causation involving omissions or absences, preemption and other species of redundant causation, and the possibility that causation is not transitive.

2013 Winner

9780195384260We are thrilled to award Alfred Mele (William H. and Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor of Philosophy at Florida State University) the inaugural Sanders Book Prize for his book Effective Intentions: The Power of Conscious Will.

Effective Intentions is indisputably the most careful and sophisticated discussion to date of the relevance of neuroscience for our understanding of willing, and especially, whether that willing is free or conscious. It is necessary reading for anyone interested in the neuroscience of agency and free will, and it deserves to be widely read by both philosophers and neuroscientists.”–Manuel Vargas, Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews