New Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy for 2015

We are thrilled to announce a new Sanders Prize in the area of POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY beginning in 2015. The deadline is March 15, 2015. The Marc Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy is a biennial essay competition open to scholars who, … more

2014 Sanders Book Prize winners announced

Congratulations to L. A. (Laurie) Paul and Ned Hall who have been awarded the 2014 Sanders Book Prize for their book Causation: A User’s Guide. The Sanders Book Prize of the APA is awarded annually to the best book in … more

Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion deadline Aug 31st

The Marc Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion is an annual essay competition open to scholars who are within fifteen (15) years of receiving a Ph.D. or students who are currently enrolled in a graduate program. Independent scholars may also … more

Alfred Mele wins 2013 Sanders Book Prize

Congratulations to Alfred Mele, William H. and Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor of Philosophy at Florida State University, who has been awarded the inaugural Sanders Book Prize for his book Effective Intentions: The Power of Conscious Will. The Sanders Book Prize … more

Deadline for 2014 Sanders Book Prize Nominations passed

The Sanders Book Prize in the amount of $7,000 is awarded to the best book in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition published in English in the previous five year period. The prize is funded … more

Graduate Student Prize applications due by Feb 15

The Marc Sanders Foundation is pleased to announce three prizes of $1,000 each for the best papers in mind, metaphysics, epistemology, or ethics submitted to the Eastern Division program committee by graduate students. The recipients of these awards will be chosen … more

Sarah-Jane Leslie’s “Philosophical Conversations” are now posted

This series, titled “Philosophical Conversations with Sarah-Jane Leslie,” presently includes conversations with Professor Joshua Knobe (Yale University), Professor Rae Langton (Cambridge University), Professor Kwame Anthony Appiah (NYU), and Professor Roger Scruton (Oxford and St. Andrews). Upcoming interviews include Professor Elizabeth … more

APA Sanders Lecture to be given by Terence Horgan in 2014

The Foundation and the Pacific Division of the American Philosophical Association are pleased to announce that Terence Horgan of the University of Arizona will be the inaugural APA Sanders Lecturer. The APA Sanders Lecture will occur during the 2014 Pacific … more

2013 Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion Winner

October 29, 2013 The Marc Sanders Foundation and the editor of Oxford Studies in Philosophy of Religion join in congratulating Jonathan Jacobs of St Louis University for his prizewinning essay “The Ineffable, Inconceivable and Incomprehensible God.” (PDF)

Page 5 of 6« First...23456