Ethics Bowl 2017 Winners

NHSEBThe National High School Ethics Bowl convened April 7th-9th at UNC Chapel Hill for its fifth annual competition, bringing together twenty-four regional champions from across the country.  Congratulations to this year’s winners!



(In order of rank:)

  1. North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, North Carolina High School Ethics Bowl (pictured)
  2. Oregon Episcopal, Oregon High School Ethics Bowl 
  3. Kent Place, New Jersey High School Ethics Bowl
  4. Herron High School, Indiana High School Ethics Bowl

Additional information about the National High School Ethics Bowl can be found here.


David Christensen to give 2018 Sanders Lecture at Eastern APA

Picture1In conjunction with the APA, we are pleased to announce that Professor David Christensen of Brown University will give the 2017–2018 Sanders Lecture at the 2018 Eastern Division meeting in Savannah, GA.

Christensen received his Ph.D. from UCLA in 1987 and taught for 20 years at the University of Vermont before coming to Brown University in 2007. His main research interests are in epistemology, formal and informal. His book, Putting Logic in its Place, investigates the role of logic in constraining rational beliefs and degrees of confidence. He has also written several papers on this topic and others. Christensen is currently working on questions about how our theory of rational belief should in general accommodate one’s doubts about one’s own cognitive reliability.


Martin Smith Wins Public Philosophy Award

martin smithCongratulations to Martin Smith, the 2016 winner of the inaugural Sanders Prize in Public Philosophy for his paper “Why Throwing 92 Heads in a Row is Not Surprising”. Martin is a lecturer at the University of Edinburgh, specializing in epistemology, logic, and philosophy of law.  His paper will be published in Philosophers’ Imprint. To read an abstract of his paper, click here.

An honorable mention goes to Regina Rini (NYU), the runner-up for the prize. Her paper, titled “How Should A Robot Be?”, will be published in Aeon.

Both Smith and Rini’s essays will be cross-posted in Salon, and The Point.  



Sanders Prize in Metaphysics-Deadline January 31st, 2017

The Sanders Prize in Metaphysics is open and papers are due on the last day of January, 2017. Click here for more information


Julia Joráti wins Early Modern Philosophy Prize

Version 2

The Marc Sanders Foundation wishes to congratulate Julia Joráti, winner of its inaugural prize in History of Early Modern Philosophy, for her paper “Leibniz’s Ontology of Force”. Julia is an assistant professor of philosophy at Ohio State University. Her paper will be published in Oxford Studies in Early Modern Philosophy.

To read an abstract of Julia’s paper, click here.


Eleonore Stump’s lecture now available online

If you missed it, you can now view the 2016 Sanders Lecture at Rugters here. The lecture was delivered by Professor Eleonore Stump, the Robert J. Henle Professor of Philosophy at Saint Louis University, titled “The Personal God of Classical Theism.”


D’Alessandro, Phillips, and Rimell win the 2016 Sanders Graduate Student Awards

The Marc Sanders Foundation joins the APA in congratulating the winners of the 2016 Sanders Graduate Student Awards:

William D’Alessandro (University of Illinois at Chicago), for “Grounding, Dependence, and Mathematical Explanation”

John Phillips (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), for “Doxastic Options and the Viability of Epistemic Utility Theory”

Nicholas Rimell (University of Virginia), for “Sex, Deception, and Will”

In keeping with its mission of encouraging and recognizing excellence in philosophy, the Marc Sanders Foundation has dedicated resources to an annual essay competition, designed to promote excellent research and writing in philosophy on the part of younger scholars. Essays are  submitted for the annual APA Eastern Division meeting by graduate students, as chosen by the Eastern Division program committee.

D’Alessandro, Phillips, and Rimell will receive a monetary award of $1000 and will present their winning papers at the 2017 Eastern Division of the APA in Baltimore.

For more information on this prize, visit the Sanders Graduate Student Awards page.


Kenneth L. Pearce wins Philosophy of Religion Prize

pearce-smallerCongratulations to Kenneth L. Pearce, the 2016 winner of the Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion for his paper “Foundational Grounding and the Argument from Contingency”.  Kenneth is Ussher Assistant Professor in Berkeley Studies at Trinity College Dublin. His paper will be published in Oxford Studies in Philosophy of Religion.

To read an abstract of Kenneth’s paper, click here.


Berislav Marušić wins Sanders Book Prize

evidence and agencyWe are excited to announce that Berislav Marušić has been awarded the 2016 Sanders book prize for his book, Evidence and Agency: Norms of Belief for Promising and Resolving (Oxford University Press).

Marušić explores the question of how we, as agents, should weigh evidence when assessing our future actions. We frequently make promises or resolutions despite evidence that carrying out these actions will be difficult. In doing so, our resolutions and promises seem irrational or insincere. Marušić argues that, provided it is important to us to do something, we can rationally believe that we will do it, even if our belief goes against the evidence.


Neil Sinclair wins Metaethics Prize

Neil-SinclairThe Marc Sanders Foundation and Oxford Studies in Metaethics join in congratulating Neil Sinclair (Nottingham) as the winner of the Sanders Prize in Metaethics for his entry “Belief Pills and the Possibility of Moral Epistemology.” Neil’s paper will appear in Oxford Studies in Metaethics, vol. 13, with a publication date of summer 2018. An abstract is available here. Neil will deliver a presentation based on his paper at the Chapel Hill Metaethics Workshop in early September.

The review panel, chaired by Steve Finlay (USC), with Ruth Chang (Rutgers) and Chris Heathwood (Colorado), unanimously selected Neil’s paper from three dozen submissions. Neil received his Ph.D. from Cambridge University in 2006 and joined the Nottingham department shortly thereafter.